Run-Down Forums Forum Index Run-Down Forums

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch

Run-Down Forums Forum Index
Rambling Runners
Running FAQ

Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Run-Down Forums Forum Index -> Rambling Runners
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Dan
Chief Pontificator
Chief Pontificator

PostPosted: Sun Sep 23, 2001 2:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here's something new that will hopefully be fun for folks and foster some more group participation. I'm a "bit" behind on answering submitted questions for the Run-Down Running FAQ, so I thought I'd post the questions I have here for any of you to take a shot at answering. Some of them are not general enough to really fit the nature of the FAQ, but they will still provide a good all around resource here.

[bold items have been answered below in the thread]

Some have already been answered or alluded to elsewhere in the forum. Others are just, well, odd... Read on:

1) I'm brand new at running, but a very experienced walker. I run .5 miles of my 2.5 mile trek and towards the end of that run and throughout the rest of my walk I get a burning sensation in the back of my nose and throat. I'd like to increase my running, but the burning hurts too badly. Is this normal? Should I run through it?

2) I would like to know about the recommended breathing pace for general running. I always heard about doing it in 4 strokes: 3 inhales and 1 exhalation. I also know people that like to do 2 X 2. But, is there any physiological reason for any of these modes? Is there a better pace option depending on the run type? For example, long distance (more than 6 miles) X short distance; fat reduction X working out.

3) I am interested in training for extreme racing, where do I find information on training for this kind of event? (ie Canadian Death Race, etc)

4) how do i avoid and cure foot blisters?