0%
 0%  [ 0 ]
yes, it is part of my training program
0%
 0%  [ 0 ]
Total Votes : 0

chadtibb
Lurker

PostPosted: Wed Jul 07, 2010 9:19 pm    Post subject: Running Form-Helping or Hurting Reply with quote

Disclaimer: The information presented on this site is based upon my opinions and experiences and should not be used as medical, personal, training, or professional advice or recommendations.

I’ve been running for many years, 34 to be exact, and competing for 30 years. Over that time I have seen many many people with off the wall running form. I’m not sure how they developed it, or if they are even aware that they are not running with a form that is at all similar to most others. I want to help these people, but how do you approach someone with that? “Hey! Dude, what are you doing with your arms? Trying to fly?” I don’t think so. I’m sure most people would welcome the advice, but who knows. I wanted to put this post up to help those who seek it, and maybe those who don’t.

When I think of perfect form, or the perfect stride I think of the elite athletes, specifically the Kenyan distance runners who have dominated for so many years. Very few people ever achieve that level of fitness and efficiency, but if you use that as the goal, it gives us something to strive towards.

ARMS

One of the most common yet easy fixes is how people carry their arms. Your arms should be bent at a 90 degree angle. Not 180 and not 45. I see people that have their arms so bent and held so close to their chest they look like they are giving themselves uppercuts to the jaw. Then I see others running almost straight-armed.

Here is the ideal. Arms bent at the elbow with a 90 degree angle (like the letter “L”), swing the arms from the shoulder, the elbow shouldn’t bend much. The hands should be positioned to just graze the hip bones. The swing of the arms should come across the body slightly but never cross the imaginary centerline of you belly button.