Run-Down Forums Forum Index Run-Down Forums

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch

Run-Down Forums Forum Index
Rambling Runners
overweight and dreaming of being a runner...

Goto page 1, 2  Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Run-Down Forums Forum Index -> Rambling Runners
View previous topic :: View next topic  
sarahgirl81
Lurker

PostPosted: Tue Jan 27, 2009 5:02 pm    Post subject: overweight and dreaming of being a runner... Reply with quote

Hi all,

I am 27, 5'11...and 240 pounds. I have been dieting successfully for several months but I am ready to rev things up by adding in some exercise. I have dreamed of being one of those svelte folks that I see religiously running and winning races. I know I have it in me, but I do not know where to start. My question for you pros out there is:

1) Should I start by just walking and gradually add running in a little at a time?

2) Should I focus more on duration or distance to begin?

Any advice is good advice (as long as it is constructive...).

Thank you!

Sarah
Indeurr
Olympic Medalist
Olympic Medalist

PostPosted: Tue Jan 27, 2009 6:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Either run or walk, but do not jog at so slow pace that it ... hurts.
Go for ... 2 miles, and eat an extra apple only afterward. Call it a success, if you run for one mile out of two.
Be patient!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TB0RcWYMwXU
one hand clapping
ssteve235
Varsity
Varsity

PostPosted: Tue Jan 27, 2009 6:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Good for you. If you are just starting out running, take it easy at first. Try walking around the block or around a local track. Then as you get more comfortable with it, start jogging. As for concentrating on duration or distance, i would concentrate on duration. Good luck losing that wieght!
Dan
Chief Pontificator
Chief Pontificator

PostPosted: Tue Jan 27, 2009 8:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote