FAQFAQ   SearchSearch

Run-Down Forums Forum Index
Training Talk
tips on starting off the blocks?

View previous topic :: View next topic  
darigaaz12
Water Boy
Water Boy

PostPosted: Tue Apr 04, 2006 9:29 pm    Post subject: tips on starting off the blocks? Reply with quote

This is my first year in track and field in highshool and seems to be our coaches first year as a track coach lol, I hit 11.6 in my first track meet which is ok i guess. But off the blocks everyone blew me away and after that i caught them all, if i could have gotten faster i would have been a low 11.

So anyone have advice or videos on better off the blocks starts?
Dan
Chief Pontificator
Chief Pontificator

PostPosted: Tue Apr 04, 2006 10:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's a solid first effort, especially off a bad start. Teaching starts is tough enough in person, doing so remotely is near impossible. Keys are to be relaxed getting into position, go up (set) in one quick movement, get your front leg bent at a 90* angle and your back leg about 120* (will result from getting the proper distance from the line and the right spacing between pedals), then getting good pressure on the pedals and staying coiled but still stable. Easier said than done... I don't know any training videos off hand to recommend, but I'm sure something is out there. Look through the various T&F equipment catalogs for ideas.

Dan
AM_Runner
All-Star
All-Star

PostPosted: Thu Apr 06, 2006 1:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I believe that http://www.trackandfieldnews.com also has a video section as well where you can buy training vids

Another key is to be consistance with your placings - where your hands and feet go, once you have whats right for you make sure you set the blocks and check them every time to make them correct for you.
darigaaz12
Water Boy
Water Boy

PostPosted: Thu Apr 06, 2006 5:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote